National Nutrition Month

National Nutrition Month

March is National Nutrition Month, this month was used by The Academy of Nutrition And Dietetics (eatright.org) to encourage nutrition education, and the importance of informed food choices and engaging in physical activity. As a Nutritionist, I love to see nutrition celebrated for a month, although I feel it should be honored year round!

This being my first post I thought I would tell you a little of my story with nutrition. I used to have a poor appetite and tended to eat foods with low nutritional value, which contributed to my struggle with iron and Vitamin B-12 deficiencies. However, through my studies I better understood the need for all the nutrients and the effect they have on a person, therefore adjusting my diet and lifestyle.

I often tried to keep up with my exercise routine, which made adding a balanced diet rather tolerable. When I was at a crossroads on what to do in college, it was suggested for me to pursue nutrition and dietetics, I had found what I was meant to study! Through what I was learning in my classes and being encouraged to try, I adjusted to eating more variety of foods, including lots of proteins and vegetables, two food groups that I was previously lacking in. Today my diet consists of all the food groups, although sometimes my proteins could be a little more varied. The most important part of nutrition that I try to encourage my clients to do is have fun with it and enjoy everything in moderation. I work as a Nutritionist with WIC (Women Infant Children) and love what I do, which is help the community and encourage nutritious foods that I love.

I hope you guys enjoy checking out this blog as much as I enjoy putting it together. Have fun making good eating choices, til the next time!

Happy National Nutrition Month!

Leave a Reply

